HTML

Standard

The online world is now such a big part of most people’s lives- to be honest I feel I’d be lost without it! It’s a love/hate relationship though, because I often find myself sitting on Facebook or watching iPlayer for hours, wasting my day!

Anyway because of the fact the web is now so important for businesses and individuals I have decided to learn about the world of HTML and what it takes to actually build a website.

So I’m starting with the very basics, using simple sources from the Internet to teach me and help me to understand what it’s all about. I know there are many web design jobs out there at the moment due to more and more people developing their online presence so thought I’d investigate and see if it was something I’d be interested in! If I do enjoy it, maybe I’ll do a course and see where that takes me. It’s a good way to spend my time, rather than moping about being unable to find a better job!

I’ve been told this book is quite good so will add it to the christmas list:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Teach-Yourself-Hours-Coverage-Yourself/dp/0672330970/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1321866088&sr=8-1

These websites have been helpful so far:

http://www.html.net/tutorials/html/lesson1.php

http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_links.asp

http://www.activejump.com/g.shtml

If you just type ‘HTML’ in google loads of stuff comes up.

So far I’ve just created a simple web page with a background and a few headings and paragraphs.

I also managed to create links to this blog and a link so people can email me. It’s quite nice to see the final product coming together and all created just using a simple programme that comes on your computer! So here it is- my first attempt at a web page (not exactly inspiring content yet but it’s a work in progress!):

Leave a Reply

